Posted by: nakamura2828 | April 4, 2009

Day #46: Chinese Lunch

chinese1So today was an interesting break from my normal routine.  It’s the first time that I’ve eaten out at a real restaurant since I’ve started logging my calories.  For lunch my family and I went to an all-you-can-eat chinese buffet.

Knowing how I normally eat at such places today could have been a caloric nightmare.  I think things went pretty well however.  I had to sort of guesstimate appropriate portions when I was there, and to try to stay away as much as possible from the tasty red meats and deep-fried goodies.

I limited myself to one plate of entree, mostly to stir-fried stuff, chicken, broccoli, and mushrooms, along with a spring-roll, a bit of rice, some “sea food surprise” and a couple other miscellaneous things.  Afterward, I did my best to gauge what I ate (this involved a bit of guesswork, but I think it was fairly accurate), and came up with about 500 calories (see the listing below).  Five hundred is a rather large meal as far as my diet is concerned, but overall I think it was quite reasonable. I knew I’d probably be eating out today, so I cut back on breakfast to compensate, and as a result my daily total was right in line with the last couple days, and well below my 1200 calorie goal threshold.

I also had a small plate of fruits and veggies for dessert, which came out to less than a bowl of salad, so I thought it was pretty decent.


Day 46:
Weight: 156.2 lbs
Fat: 25.7%
BMI: 25.99

  • Breakfast: An apple. (80 calories)
  • Lunch: Chinese food: Stir-fried chicken (108 calories), ¼ cup of fried rice (91 calories), a cup of won-ton soup broth (71 calories), a spinich roll (70 calories), seafood surprise (50 calories), a small spring roll (45 calories), a half a hard boiled egg  (39 calories), a half cup of stir-fried broccolli (19 calories), and three stir-fried mushrooms (7 calories). Altogether: 500 calories
  • Dinner: A slice of cheese pizza (230 calories), and a serving of cottage cheese (90 calories). Altogether: 320 calories
  • Other: Dessert at the chinese buffet: apple slices (20 calories), raw mushrooms (20 calories), grapes (14 calories), carrots & beans (10 calories). Altogether: 64 calories

The total for the day was a nice conservative 964 calories.

Leave a Reply

Categories

