Posted by: nakamura2828 | March 27, 2009

Day #38 – Pizza Day

Pepperoni PizzaSo what is a grad student on a diet to do when confronted with that staple of the typical grad student diet, free food?  Why indulge of course, but attempt to stay within their calorie goals.

Today was the department’s annual computer science day event (more on that in another post).  This usually means that we get treated to more or less unlimited free pizza.

In order to let me take advantage of this, I planned ahead.  To save on calories, I deliberately canned breakfast and dinner.  I knew multiple slices for lunch would be more than enough to meet the day’s calorie budget.  Furthermore, I set a limit on the number of slices I would allow myself the night before.

Using this site as a guide, planning to eat only veggie or cheese pizza (at 230 calories a slice), I figured I could eat five slices and still meet my calorie goals, or 10 slices and still stay below my total energy expenditure for the day. This would at least maintain my weight for the day.  Being as I had expected to be serving the pizza most of the day, I was willing to go for the latter.  As things turned out though, I only ended up briefly with the pizza as a servee, which enabled me to more easily go for the former (and healthier) option.

Unfortunately I accidentally grabbed a couple pepperoni slices to begin with without thinking, which are more calorie dense at 290 calories a slice. Knowing this, I limited myself to four slices: two pepperoni, and two cheese.  It was enough to fill me up at that point, and I was soon called away to volunteer somewhere else.

Now this probably isn’t the healthiest day in my diet, but free food is free food.  Pizza, also, is relatively nutritious as far as junk food goes.  I’m a little hungry now late at night, but that probably has more to do with having skipped dinner than what I ate for lunch.  It’s not too bad though, and not strong enough that I feel the need to sneak something from the fridge.  In any case, I should be used to the once a day meal schedule, having stuck to it for a good part of my early college career.

Another added benefit of CS day is that the department regularly orders much too much pizza.  As a result, I and many of the other volunteers ended up with free pies at the end of the day.  I got two boxes worth myself and stuck the pizza straight in the freezer so I wouldn’t have to eat them quickly to avoid spoilage.  Again, pizza’s not the ideal diet food, but at 230 calories a pop, a slice of pizza will make a nice quick and easy entree for dinner, alongside a salad or veggies as a side.  The amount that I picked up today should last me for quite a few meals into the future.

So that was my way of reconciling free junk food with my dietary ambitions:  plan ahead, moderate yourself, and when possible use it to supplement your future meals.  So to close, I’ll close with my stats for the day:


Day #38:
Weight: 159.0 lbs
Fat: 26.6%
BMI: 26.46

  • Breakfast: Skipped intentionally (0 calories)
  • Lunch: 2 slices pepperoni pizza (290 calories each), 2 slices cheese pizza (230 calories each), diet Pepsi (0 calories) – altogether 1040 calories
  • Dinner: Skipped intentionally (0 calories)

So since lunch was the only contributor, the full day stays at 1040 calories.  That’s more or less in line with my recent consumption, and well less than my goal of 1200.  As late as it is, I think I’ll forgo a snack, even though I could afford one if I wanted.

Responses

  1. […] my goal and back on track. It also happens to be the exact number of calories as my one meal for pizza day. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)DIET PROBLEMS….WAKARANAI!!!!No TitleMenu […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

